Beginners Class


This class is taught by:

Bernard Deane-Armstrong

Bernard teaches Classic Sivananda yoga, which includes postures, breathwork, relaxation and meditation.

These Hatha Yoga classes are suitable for all students from total beginners to intermediate level.

Bernard has been practising yoga and meditation for over 10 years and has been a Yogaananda regular for most of that time.

He trained in Theatre Arts and dance using yoga to help keep him supple in body and mind.

Come join him on his journey into yoga.

Jean Stafford

Fifteen years ago I signed up for my first ‘sweaty’ Ashtanga class in Covent Garden. Our teacher was also a talented dancer in the musical ‘Cats’ and he was a wonderful character. I found him inspiring and soon reaped the rewards of including asana practices in my life.

Nowadays, although I still enjoy Ashtanga I am inspired by Vinyasa Flow, which I am qualified to teach. I also love attending a variety of weekly asana classes, to keep my own practice fresh and exciting – whether it is a beginner, or advanced class. It never ceases to amaze me how each teacher offers their own unique teaching style!

Each class I teach uses dynamic and static postures to gently stretch and strengthen the body, and expand the mind. I encourage my students to trust in their bodies and break down more demanding asanas, using their breath as a guide. If the breath feels uncomfortable, we can pull back from a posture.

I like to create a light atmosphere in class so that all students feel welcome, whatever their experience level. Modifications are available so that everyone can explore the postures.

At the end of class we enjoy a well-deserved relaxation allowing students to soak up the benefits of their practice. Our intention is to leave our practice feeling positive about ourselves, fully restored with increased vitality and energy.

Leon

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed 24 Oct 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 27 Oct 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 31 Oct 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 03 Nov 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 07 Nov 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 10 Nov 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 14 Nov 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 17 Nov 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 21 Nov 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 24 Nov 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 28 Nov 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 01 Dec 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 05 Dec 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 08 Dec 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 12 Dec 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 15 Dec 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 19 Dec 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 22 Dec 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford
  • Wed 26 Dec 6:00 pm - 7:15 pm with Bernard Deane-Armstrong
  • Sat 29 Dec 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Jean Stafford